The Bright Spots – Weekly Roundup, September 25, 2015

Hello Countryside Tribe!

We’re getting pretty far into the season of “Friday Night Lights,” aren’t we? Next week is October!  How did this happen?  Best of luck to all our fans, players, families and coaches in whatever games or activities you may be watching, playing in or attending this evening or over the weekend. 

I thought our early childhood education staff (and others) might appreciate the following “All About Me” form.

allaboutme

Also, don’t forget tomorrow is the Applefest Run!  Ruth and Anna from Health & Wellness, along with their fantastic volunteers,  have been working hard to prepare for this event!  The T-shirts also look snazzy!

Some of you may know that I am a former political science major from the University of Richmond so I follow elections and legislation pretty closely (it also happens to come in handy when you are in Human Resources). This year “The Donald” has certainly shaken things up, and regardless of whether you like him or not, you have to admit these “Trump as Disney Princess” cartoons are a complete riot.  Had to share:

donaldtrumpsnowwhite donaldtrumpjasmine donald-trump-as-your-favorite-disney-princesses-2-17234-1442957487-3_big donaldtrumpariel donaldpocahontas donaldmulan donald

On Tuesday of this week I was able to attend a board retreat where we continued to focus on the phrase of the fall, the “Bright Spots” that are happening here at Countryside.  We didn’t have to think too hard!  You guys give us material on a daily basis.  Don’t forget to share that by filling out a “Bright Spots” card!  Next week I will have a random draw on Wednesday for a $25 gift card winner.  If you are in a satellite location to Lebanon, I would still love for you to complete a card – I’ve stuck some in the boxes of our “satellite supervisors.”  Feel free to hand it to your boss,  or whomever may be coming by Lebanon next and ask the front desk gals to stick it in my mailbox.  You can also email me a photo of it and I will either recreate it for you or cut and paste it for posting.  Reminder that these are posted on the glass wall to the left of the main desk here at Lebanon.

Our “Changing Lives instructor” team has been working on some changes to our on-boarding presentation which will be incorporated next month.  How long has it been since you thought about the mission, vision and values we discuss in that program?  Days? Weeks?  Months?  In my internet perusals, I stumbled upon the following YMCA of Northwest North Carolina staff pledge, which reminded me of Changing Lives and which I thought was worth sharing:

“As a member of my YMCA’s staff team, I am a relationship builder. My role is to build relationships with and between members, volunteers, staff and the communities we serve.

Every day, I will: 

DRESS FOR SUCCESS – I will create a friendly experience for our members. I will always wear my name tag so that members can clearly identify who is available to help. I will lend members a hand – offer to get towels or magazines, hold the door, etc. A member should never feel like they are wasting my time. 

SMILE AND SAY HELLO – I will provide a warm welcome for our members. I will make eye contact, smile and say hello to everyone I see, including children and teens. 

MEET AND GREET – I will make a personal connection with our members. I will introduce myself to at least one new member every day. I will become the person they can feel comfortable talking to when they have a question or concern. Better yet, I will introduce members to each other. 

SEE IT, OWN IT – If I see it, I own it. I will take responsibility for correcting the problems I see, be they as small as a discarded towel or as large as a member complaint. 

GIVE THANKS – I will be grateful. Every member has chosen to spend part of their day with us. I will thank all our volunteers every time they lend a hand. I will take time to thank or offer a sincere compliment to another staff person each time I work.”

These are the simple steps we need to take on a daily basis to build better people. It’s not just the grand gestures, sometimes the little things make all the difference. It builds our culture.  As Eleanor Roosevelt put it… “We do not have to become heroes overnight. Just a step at a time, meeting each thing that comes up … discovering we have the strength to stare it down.”

Culture

​​Hope you all have a fantastic weekend, and I look forward to building better people with you again next week!

Leave a Reply

